I Wish You a Bench

I am grateful for benches… all benches… the stone bench, the wooden bench, the upholstered bench, the stainless steel bench, outdoor garden benches, bike trail benches, and suspended benches, as in the tranquil old-fashioned porch swing.  I consider them a work of art, a place to ponder and a necessary option for the heart patient – or anyone with a chronic health condition.  They stand as a compassionate and humane tribute to both the weary and the unwell.

Life has a way of changing us.  I have acquired a tendency to be on the lookout for benches wherever I go.  I want to know approximately when and where I will meander upon the next one.  One must always be on guard for the next appropriate space to sit.  There can be a sense of urgency associated with finding a bench, as you never know when you will need one.  Medications like beta blockers, calcium channel blockers, and ace inhibitors may decrease angina but can bring on light-headedness out of the clear blue.  Long-acting nitroglycerin can be the culprit for dizziness as well.  A bench is something that really comes in useful, whether you are tired, have an existing medical condition or you just want to “sit a spell” and ponder the mysteries of the world.

"Come and 'sit a spell' with me please."

“Come and ‘sit a spell’ with me please.”


I wish YOU a bench.

I wish you season of porch swings, apple cider, and fireflies.

A porch swing with pillows and sunshine.

I wish you a bench… after we walk and talk and get some “steps” in as we work hard to make 10,000 steps each day.

Bench on Edge of Bike Trail

Bench on Edge of Bike Trail

I wish you a bench… a place for us to find resolution to problems we cannot solve and words that serve as validation and introspection to heal the wounds of body and heart and mind.

A tree that looks at God all day and lifts her leafy arms to pray.

A tree that looks at God all day and lifts her leafy arms to pray.

I wish you a bench… when you feel unsure of your future and what lies ahead.  After a diagnosis of heart disease or any illness, for that matter, it is normal to feel afraid and unsure of the future.  One never knows what lies ahead.  One feels less control over their life.  We will find hope in sharing and recognizing our “sameness.”

Park benches have the best kept secrets.

Park benches have the best kept secrets.

I wish you a bench… a simple place where we can merely sit and view the beauty of God’s world.  We will recognize the gift of our earth and the blessings we have.  We will feel the peace that surrounds us.

more benches 006

A Rock-solid Bench

I wish you a bench… where we can watch the world and its people around us and marvel at all the wonders and goodness of others.

A Bench in the Shade

A Bench in the Shade

I wish you a bench… at the beginning of your morning journey and at the middle of what seems like an eternity or nearing the end of your walk where we feel a sense of accomplishment.

A Bench with Black-eyed Susans

A Bench with Black-eyed Susans

I wish you a bench… a place of hope, knowing full well we are living what millions of people have lived before us.  We will unravel great notions as we deliberate such wisdoms as why “You can’t put a question mark where God put a period.”

Bench near the Bird Feeder in Carol's Yard

Bench near the Bird Feeder in Carol’s Yard

I wish you a bench…as a place to rest, a place to meditate, a place to catch your breath and slow your heart rate.  May it serve as your lighthouse in the distance, protecting and securing your path.

Meditative Bench Think Great Thoughts Here

Meditative Bench
Think Great Thoughts Here

I wish you a bench… as we unravel our journey and decide which way to meander next.  We can dawdle with our steps.  We can dilly-dally along the way.  We can laugh at life and love and family and friends and our words and new beginnings.

Benches 017

I wish you a bench… to pray to our Lord, to share your inner most thoughts and gratitude to our Father above so that you may find His peace in your heart.

Rest at the end of your day... and marvel at the moon and the stars...

Lord, I love you and I need you.  Come into my heart please.

I wish you a bench… to slow you down at the end of your day.  I wish you a bench as your place to marvel at the moon and the stars.

"The moon is a friend for the lonesome to talk to."

“The moon is a friend for the lonesome to talk to.”

Whoa!  I am exhausted!  We took all our steps – over 10,000 even – that is about five miles!

We are darn good!

The American Heart Association would be so proud of us!

I know I need to sit down awhile.

How about you?

Will you join me on this “not so ordinary” park bench here?

This bench is a SPECIAL place for YOU, my SPECIAL friend.

6 Comments on “I Wish You a Bench

  1. Loved the article and love benches! We had one made in honor of a friend that was struck and killed by a car right by the ED of St Joseph’s hospital in Marshfield. Char loved horses – so we had a granite bench made – I found a saying that fit Char to a “T”. We had the inscription – “Do not follow where the path may lead – Go instead, where there is no path, and Leave a Trail” – along with a beautifully etched horses head – placed on the bench which is just outside the ED for those that would like to “sit and rest” for whatever reason.

  2. An awesome observation one of my favorite topics. Would share steps and a bench anytime! Thanks for including !!!

  3. Loved the article Sharon! Inviting, relaxing, calming and good to rest when one needs one or not. BENCHES are the BEST! Love You! Keep on walking and finding those benches. I could have sat on each and everyone of them. They all called me when I looked at the photo.

    • Thank you, Margie. Yes, benches are the BEST! Benches are always a welcoming spot where we can rest and contemplate the next step. I look forward to joining you on one soon!

Leave a Reply

Blender 3D Guru

Blender Guru 3D Blog

thisoldheartblog

Lessons of the Heart

KUDOS

“It takes a lot of courage to show your dreams to someone else.” ~ Erma Bombeck

The Cardiology Education Site

Cardiology for Public, Students and Doctors

Simply Juliana and Simply Deborah

Feeding your spirit, soul, and body!

Bob's NewHeart

Cutting edge health, medical, organ donation & transplantation news and information

