Happy Blogiversary!

Happy First Blogiversary!

Happy First Blogiversary!

This is the 52nd episode of thisoldheartblog.

This is the 52nd time you will read: “Take care of your heart.” 

Today “feels special” here at thisoldheartblog.

I hereby declare this my first ANNIVERSARY POST!

“Happy Blogiversary” to thisoldheartblog, as it has been one year since I began reflecting, laughing at myself, meeting new friends, letting go, remembering, connecting and touching lives in small ways.

Maya Angelou sums it up best:  “When I am writing, I am trying to find out who I am, who we are, what we’re capable of, how we feel, how we lose and stand up and go on from darkness to darkness.”

Time has surely passed.

I like to think I have become a writing warrior. (Sounds awesome, anyway!)

I have always loved fiddling with words.  I am mesmerized by imagined worlds and dreams with description, similes and alliteration.

Writing, to me, is a form of prayer and celebration in life.  It is my way of investigating the world.  I believe it is an obsession with the senses – a connection with body and soul.  My passion with words extends to my passion with creativity and ideas.  I love looking at life’s situations from every side, lifting it up, shaking its contents and exploring every angle.

Writing has been an escape, an adventure, a support system, and a resilience.

Writing has become a friend.

Writing has given me control when I felt it was one of the most important things in life I had lost.

A blog is just simply therapeutic, if nothing else.

The act of writing words down and looking at those words every day become something that you must do.  Writing “take care of your heart” tells the writer to do exactly that.

The power of writing is vividly captured at getbusylivingblog.  

The author could not find the motivation to move forward until he wrote his goals and thoughts down:

“This is it. This is when I start to make changes to the life I want. It starts now. Stop wasting time. It’s been more than five years since you’ve wanted to find a new career. You need to start doing it today. Today. Tomorrow and every day until you reach your desired lifestyle. Life is too short to be unhappy when working. Start working hard every day to find your passion and reach your goals. Focus, focus, focus. Open your mind and allow it to attract great ideas and answers to your questions.”

He printed two copies – one for the bathroom mirror and one near his computer.  His words flashed before him every day.  Writing was powerful.  Writing helped him make the change.

Harvard Health Publications reiterates the calming benefits of writing.

“Most studies have evaluated the impact of expressive writing on people with physical health conditions such as sleep apnea, asthma, migraine headaches, rheumatoid arthritis, HIV, and cancer. Likewise, most of the outcomes measured are physical, and the findings — such as blood pressure and heart rate — suggest that expressive writing initially may upset people but eventually helps them to relax.”

Research done at Ohio University revealed that spending too much time “sweating the small stuff” could cause chronic inflammation which contributes to heart disease, depression, diabetes and arthritis.  The “trick” they suggest to de-stress is journaling.  They recommend writing your emotions on paper, detailing your “stressful event” and then find meaning in it.  Lastly, move forward in written word.

The process of writing is its own reward.  The human connections have felt amazing!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for reading my postings and for your words, thoughts, feedback, support and concern.

You are all truly my “huckleberry friends.” 

I feel so blessed to have you all in my life.  You are priceless.

And for the 52nd time:

Please take care of your heart, dear friends. ♥

Happy One Year Blogiversary to thisoldheartblog!

Hmmmm… how does one celebrate a Blogiversary?!

 

 

18 Comments on “Happy Blogiversary!

  1. How do you celebrate? You have a Bloody Mary with French fries, and then you have dessert…a cherry Pringle with black and brown taffy!!!
    Happy blogiversary…go eat a KITKAT!!!!

  2. After you have accomplished all of the above items listed by Theresa, then you write again! Excellent job this past year.

    • Thanks, Kris! That is so nice to hear… I have been trying to decide if I should continue or not. Your words have much meaning for me. I am grateful for you! Thanks for being such a great friend! I hope to see you soon.

  3. Happy Blogiversay! I suggest celebrating with something suitablly writer-ish. Sharpen a bunch of old pencils at the bottom of the drawer. Polish all the smudges off your computer screen and keyboard. Buy yourself a nice ergonomic wrist rest so you won’t aggravate those delicate writing tendons.
    regards,
    C.

    • Carolyn, You are so clever! It is, indeed, time to sharpen those old pencils and the computer screen could use some polishing too. Thank you for the warm regards and a since THANK YOU for all the inspiration and help you have provided me along the way!

  4. and a (well deserved)Happy Blogiversary from your SCots “Bro’ in Law”<Mrs D!:)) Just keep on doin' what you're doin and BEst Wishes for another 52 issues of introspect and(mental) nourishment. Glad you got some time in w./ the sisters and THANKS for turning up at the wedding thing-it means a whole bunch to us!See you on the other end of the quill!:)
    ronaldo

    • THANK YOU Ron for all the time and energy you took to respond with feedback and thoughts over the past year. It means the world to me to know I have readers like you. The Sister Time was unbelievable! Our bonds are even stronger and our hearts are ever so warm. We did miss a couple of the sisters though, thinking they would surprise us at any moment. With gratitude for you…Thank you!

  5. Happy Blogiversary! One phenominal year of insight and thought provoking words. All from the HEART…no pun intended. I promise you, I may not comment on them all but I read everyone!! Keeps me near… Congratulations and keep em coming!!

    • Ping, How heart-warming to hear from you… thank you for the kind words. I am not so sure I would use a word like phenomenal to describe my postings but it certainly is inspirational to me to have you use it. With gratitude, hap:-)

  6. No it can”t be 52 blogs….but I believe you “cuz you are a correct “counter”. Just know that each one of your blogs has touched all of us, some more intimately than others, However, they were all wonderful words of inspiration and encouragemnt and information!!! Now, how to appropriately celebrate? I think a nice relaxing nap would do just fine! Keep up the fantastic connection you have created with so many friends. Love you.

    • Hey Lainer! Actually, a nap right now sounds like a most relaxing way to celebrate! I am afraid that won’t happen for awhile though — my “to do” list is extra long these summer days. Thank you so much for all your kind words. Love you more.

  7. Happy Anniversary. I just started a heart healthy blog this year and know how much work it can be. I find your writing very insightful and I have learned a lot from you blog. Thanks very much for sharing your experiences.

Leave a Reply

Halifax Charity Knitters

Covering local woolly needs

Blender 3D Guru

Blender Guru 3D Blog

thisoldheartblog

Lessons of the Heart

KUDOS

“It takes a lot of courage to show your dreams to someone else.” ~ Erma Bombeck

The Cardiology Education Site

Cardiology for Public, Students and Doctors

Simply Juliana and Simply Deborah

Feeding your spirit, soul, and body!

