Socks are the Voice of the Heart

Happy Feet at EECP

Happy Feet at EECP

Confucius once said:

“Words are the voice of the heart.”

Words are important to me.  I have seen how words impact people and lives.  The significance words impart can be far-reaching.  Words inform, persuade, hurt or soothe pain; they can greet or bid farewell.  They may get your point across, or destroy any hope of your ideas ever being understood.  And hey!  Words make great blogs!

I have been taking a “wee break” while I recharge my battery in the EECP room.  Words come at an expense right now.   I have had to change Confucius quote to a “Sharon quote”

“Socks are the voice of the heart.”  May these socks “speak my words.”

Allow me to explain.  I shared my insights into Enhanced External Counterpulsation (EECP) on a previous post, saying: “Wear fun and colorful socks because that is what you see when you are lying on the exam table!  It adds some novelty to your treatment – for both you and the nurse.”  That post also stated that I was beginning EECP in early October.

AND then … I received several pair of fun socks!  Socks really are the voice of the heart.  I hear and feel the love and compassion from friends and family in a concrete way… and I feel it throughout the entire session of EECP.

Happy Feet!

Happy Mismatched Feet!

SOCKS are the perfect accessory for EECP!

I can think of nothing better during this time.

From the bottom of my socks, THANK YOU! 

I will let the pictures do the talking!  Please enjoy my Photo Blog.

I AM STRONG socks!

I AM STRONG socks!

“They may take our shoes, but they’ll never take our socks!” – William Wallace (Braveheart)”

"And the dreams you dare to dream really do come true."

Rainbow Socks — “Somewhere over the rainbow skies are blue…”

“Never run in the rain with your socks on.”  – Billie Joe Armstrong

Teddy Bear "Soul Socks" - with aloe vera from earththerapeutics.com bringing peace and love- at least according to box they came in!

Teddy Bear “Soul Socks” – with aloe vera from earththerapeutics.com bringing peace and love-
at least according to box they came in!

“True love is like a pair of socks: You gotta have two and they’ve gotta match.” – Oscar Wilde

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail – I recommend you wear Merino wool socks though.”

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Green striped socks

Clown Town Green Stripes Socks – bringing the serenity of shades of green.

“One can never have enough socks,” said Dumbledore. “Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn’t get a single pair.
People will insist on giving me books.”  – J.K. Rowling

Smart Wool Socks

Smartwool Socks – “socks to help you rock out with your socks out.”

“Life is not measured by the number of socks we own, but by the socks that take our breath away.” – Maya Angelou

Playful Polka Dot Socks!

Playful Polka Dot Socks!

“My Mama always said, ‘Life was like a sock drawer; you never know what you’re gonna get.’” – Forrest Gump

I feel like Timothy Green socks!

I feel like Timothy Green socks!

“Granny always said finding justice was as tough as putting socks on a rooster.” – Jessica Maria Tuccelli

Pippi Longstocking socks!

Purple Pippi Longstocking socks!

“When I was young I found out that the big toe always ends up making a hole in a sock.
So I stopped wearing socks.” – Albert Einstein

Comfy Socks!

Comfy Socks!

“Life is too short to waste time on matching socks.”

Mismatched socks!

Who needs matching socks!?

“Women speak because they wish to speak, whereas a man speaks only when driven to speak by something outside himself-like, for instance, he can’t find any clean socks.” – Jean Kerr

Pale Purple Socks - So soft and soothing

Pale Purple Socks – So soft and soothing

“Not I – Not anyone, can travel that road for you. You must travel it for yourself – With comfy socks of course.” – Walt Whitman

Argyles

Ageless Argyles

Sometimes happiness is like a missing sock.  You know it will turn up eventually, but it will probably be in the strangest place.”  Source unknown

Halloween Orange and Black Stripes

Halloween Orange and Black Stripes

“All the lonely socks, where do they all come from? / All the lonely socks, where do they all belong?” – The Beatles

Toe Socks in Primary Colors - I feel like I am in grade school again!"

Toe Socks in Primary Colors – I feel like I am in grade school again!”

“Do small things with great socks” ~ Mother Teresa

‎”Speak softly and carry extra socks; you will go far.” – Theodore Roosevelt

“Sock it to Me!”

Let me know if I missed any favorite sock quotes or what your favorite socks look like.

AND AGAIN…. THANK YOU from the bottom of my SOCKS!

14 Comments on “Socks are the Voice of the Heart

  1. YOU “socked it to us” once again, Sharon! I always looked forward to your posts. YOU look at life in such a positive note…despite all the obstacles. Love you, Sharon!!!

    • Theresa, Thank you for your witty response! You are always my most avid supporter and first to respond. Thank you for always being there for me.

  2. I am convinced your socks do speak the thoughts of your heart!! Your “wee” break from words is a good break for you. I am thinking of you every day at 8:30.

    • Elaine, it may seem trite, but these socks really had great meaning for me as I looked down at them during the 60 minutes of pounding compressions. THANK YOU for the rainbow socks! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Thank you for being YOU!

  3. I LOVE THESE SOCKS! I would love to repost this on my Heart Sisters blog, with your permission. EECP is unfamiliar to many of us – your photos are a profound way to kick off the discussion!
    regards,
    C.

    • Carolyn,
      I would be honored to have you repost the socks on the Heart Sisters blog. I have always wished other Heart Sisters would connect and discuss EECP. Sometimes I feel all alone when I am certain there has to be others going through the same as me. THANK YOU, Carolyn!

  4. Sharon you are so positive in your writings. You are an insperation to us all. How is the treatment working for you?Take care. Love you.

    • Thank you, Sal. Your words and thoughts are all an inspiration to me. EECP treatments are moving forward – 15 done and 35 to go. I already notice less angina. Because I have done this before, I am certain the angina will become less in time and my energy will increase. It is all good!

  5. My favorite may be your Beatles paraphrase!
    Sharon, I am loving your blog, and beginning this week I will have some time to read it. Half time really started today!
    Thank – you so much for the socks for Christmas! The real ones packaged with lovely liquid, as well as your funny and inspirational post. Hope you are feeling energized and pain free in these post ECP days.
    Tomorrow is my first day to have a real non clinic workday. First thing on the list, Sharon’s sunset print. Send me your non blog email address and I will send to you the info you need about it.
    Stay warm,
    Jan

    • Thank you so much, Jan and Congratulations of your new half-time position. I am very excited for you and know you will relish all those extra ‘non-working’ moments. Yes, definitely, doing well post-ECP… trying to avoid the frigid Arctic temps. OH! I AM SO EXCITED about the sunset print! You may email me at hap2@charter.net. Looking forward to hearing more. THANK YOU for your kind words about thisoldheartblog.

Leave a Reply

Halifax Charity Knitters

Covering local woolly needs

Blender 3D Guru

Blender Guru 3D Blog

thisoldheartblog

Lessons of the Heart

KUDOS

“It takes a lot of courage to show your dreams to someone else.” ~ Erma Bombeck

The Cardiology Education Site

Cardiology for Public, Students and Doctors

Simply Juliana and Simply Deborah

Feeding your spirit, soul, and body!

